Morehead Banner ad

Award Recipients

You can view all of the awards recipients listed below and from past years by clicking here.

2016 - 2017 MPI KBC Award Winners 

Bravo!, which featured the June awards program and silent auction, was the wrap up of the MPI KBC year and included the installation of the 2017-2018 Board of Directors and the presentation of the annual chapter awards. Here is a recap of the awards and recipients:

Committee Member of the Year                                                                                   This award is given to an active committee chairperson or committee member who has shown initiative and above-and-beyond service in fulfilling his or her committee responsibilities. This person represents the initiatives of not only the committee she serves, but promotes KBC MPI in all endeavors.

Derek Olive     Western Kentucky University

Rising Star Award                                                                                                      Awarded to an individual who has not been a member of MPI or MPI KBC for more than 3 years and exhibits strong sense of initiative on behalf of the meetings industry and the Chapter. This person may or may not have been a member of a committee, but will have shown willingness to devote his or her energies to the Chapter and its vibrancy.

Morgan Whitney     Keeneland

Gene Metzler Supplier of the Year Award                                                                   This award is presented to a supplier member in recognition of outstanding association and industry contributions, leadership and professionalism. The selection of this award is based on a history of accomplishments in our industry as well as to meeting management and for furthering the aims of MPI and its mission. The supplier of the year serves as a role model for other suppliers. The winner this year is:

Mae Bower      Louisville Convention & Visitors Bureau

Harrington/Penner Planner of the Year Award
The award was renamed a few years ago in honor of the late Don Harrington and Dorothy Plenner, long-time planner members of the organization who passed away. The award goes to a planner member of the chapter in recognition of outstanding contributions to the association and the industry. The Planner of the Year award is based on a history of accomplishments in our industry as well as to furthering the aims of MPI and its mission. The planner of the year serves as a role model for others in the industry. This member should have contributed her or her time, hard work and experience to the meeting industry in Kentucky.

Joan Minton, CGMP     National Association of Boating Law Administrators

Silver Platter Award                                                                                                       This award is given to the hotel property or meeting venue that received the highest score pertaining to food and beverage on the post meeting evaluation. The winner for this year is:

French Lick Resort and Galt House Hotel 

President's Awards                                                                                                       The President's Award is given at the discretion of the President of MPI KBC to someone who has truly helped him/her during his/her year as president. Julie Kirkpatrick of meetNKY and MPI KBC President 2016-17 presented awards to:  

Stefanie Wyckoff    meetNKY